SQF Edition 8 Conversion Course
  • icon
  • Course Length: 2 Hours

Alchemy, the global leader in food safety training, has built a course for anyone certified under SQF Code Edition 7.2 and preparing for their first audit under the new Edition 8 Code. This two-hour eLearning course is developed and taught by certified SQF auditors from the Alchemy Professional Services Team.

A passing grade for the course is an average of 85% or higher. After successfully completing the course, you will be able to access and download your certificate of completion.


SQF Edition 8 goals and structure (Part 1)
  • Edition 8 new code structure and breakdown of the new levels: Food Safety Fundamentals, Food Safety Codes & Quality Code
New features and key changes in SQF Edition 8 codes (Part 2, 5 & 6)
  • Part A requirement changes including System Elements key changes & Food Sector Category changes
  • Module 2 new program requirements, Module 2 changes to program requirements & Module 11 new program requirements
  • Module 11 new program requirements (continued) & Module 11 changes to program requirements
Timeline, implementation, and resources (Part 3)
  • SQF Edition 8 timeline to implementation including training and resource information
SQF Edition 8 implementation strategies (Part 4)
  • Implementation Strategies covering code awareness and training, as well as the gap analysis process
Best Practices (Part 7)
  • Edition 8 new code structure and breakdown of the new levels: Food Safety Fundamentals, Food Safety Codes & Quality Code

Who Should Register

Food safety professionals at an SQF-certified site responsible for designing, implementing and maintaining the requirements of the updated SQF Food Safety Code, including:

  • SQF Practitioners
  • Food Safety Auditors
  • Food Safety Consultants
  • Senior Managers
  • Production Managers
  • Maintenance Managers
  • Supervisors
  • Quality Managers
  • Human Resources
  • Service Providers

Frequently asked questions

How long do I have to complete the course?
Users have access to the course content for 6 months after beginning the course. During this period, the user may start and stop at their leisure. Users who fail to complete the e-learning course in the time available will not be eligible for a refund.

Can we use edition 8 of the Code prior to the implementation date of January 2nd?
Any audits scheduled prior to January 2, 2018, will be under edition 7.2. There will be no exceptions.

Where can I download Edition 8?
Edition 8 can be found on the SQFI website at www.sqfi.com/documents.
All previous versions of the SQF Code can also be found by following that link.

What is the difference between the modules and the Food Safety Codes?
Modules are the good industry practices that are specific to the industry sector. The modules contain the good agriculture practices, good manufacturing practices, good distribution practices, and good retail practices that the site shall meet in order to achieve SQF certification. To determine the appropriate the module the site shall refer to any of the SQF Codes, Edition 8, Part A, Section 1.2. The Food Safety Code is the site-specific reference that outlines the requirements that each site shall meet when implementing and maintaining the SQF Code requirements.

What is the best way to determine which food sector category and modules apply to my site?
The best way to determine which Food Sector Category bests fits your site, please reference the Food Sector Category list and description listed in any of the SQF Codes, Edition 8, Appendix 1. This list identifies the category and provides descriptions, product examples and relevant modules. It would be best to consult with your certification body to confirm the designation of the site’s food sector category.

How much documentation is required to update our current SQF system to edition 8? For example, should my system review be against edition 7.2 or edition 8?
Any auditors auditing against edition 8 of the SQF Code will be required to audit against all requirements (new and existing) that are contained in edition 8. Sites should evaluate their systems to ensure they meet the requirements of edition 8. It is recommended that there be at a minimum of 90 days of documentation to support any new program or requirement however that is not a requirement. The actual number depends on the program, policy or procedure that is being implemented.

Which exam or course should I buy if I want to be SQF certified?
An entire site seeks to achieve and maintain SQF certification, not just one person. However, part of a site becoming SQF certified is for the site to designate one of their employees as the SQF Practitioner. There are various requirements to become an SQF Practitioner including the following:

  1. Be employed by the site as a company employee on a full-time basis;
  2. Hold a position of responsibility in relation to the management of the site’s SQF System;
  3. Have completed a HACCP training course;
  4. Be competent to implement and maintain HACCP based food safety plans; and
  5. Have an understanding of the SQF Food Safety Code for Manufacturing and the requirements to implement and maintain an SQF System relevant to the site’s scope of certification.

Our Implementing SQF Systems course helps you pass the SQF exam which fulfills the “Have an understanding of the SQF Food Safety Code for Manufacturing and the requirements to implement and maintain an SQF System relevant to the site’s scope of certification.” requirement.

For more information on how your site can reach SQF certification, please visit: http://www.sqfi.com/wp-content/uploads/3.-8-Steps-to-Certitification-Flyer.pdf

Associated Courses


Ticket(s) / Students

Enter account information for each student you are enrolling.

Categories: ,